Orchard Park Secondary School

Canadian and International Law

Grade 12- CLN4U


Ms. Niemiec's Class

Email: ms.niemiec1@gmail.com


FLASHCARD LINK

Use this online FLASHCARD tool to study our terms for this unit.

UNIT 3: Criminology


Date

Lesson Title

Note

FYI Notes

Assignment

Tuesday April 6, 2010
What is Crime? Concepts of Justice

Sleepwalking Defence Murder?
Fingerprinting for hybrid offences

Wednesday April 7, 2010
Crime/Justice Continued
See above
--
See above
Thursday April 8, 2010
Theories of Criminology

Article: Classical View - Why Do People Commit Crimes
--
Friday April 9, 2010
Theories of Criminology Continued
...the above note has been updated with a few new slides. Make sure you have them all.
--
--
Monday April 12, 2010
Pre-Trial Procedures: Fingerprinting


-In class assignment
Tuesday April 13, 2010
Pre-Trial Procedures:
Blood, DNA, Trace Elements
The note above is updated. Look for slides after fingerprinting/dusting instructions.


Wednesday April 14, 2010
Pre-Trial Procedures
No note - assignment instead
-There are 3 groups of 6. Find your group members for your section (each section is different).
--

Thursday April 15, 2010
Same as above
Same as above
--
--
Friday April 16, 2010
Same as above


-Study these notes for the test!
Monday April 19, 2010
NO SCHOOL
--
--
--
--
--
--Only study the above notes for the test!!!!!---
In the text: Chapters 8 and 9

--

Tuesday April 20, 2010
Criminal Trial Principles

--
-You have a choice of assignments.
1. Check your understanding Page 293, questions 1-5.

OR

2. Create 3 Term Tetrahedrons by selecting 3 different principles found in the text pages 291 - 292. Check the power point presentation for this lesson for directions. A template of the tetrahedron is found below.
Wednesday April 21, 2010
The Jury


--
Jury Articles: See Ms. N in class for copies
Due: April 22, 2010
Thursday April 22, 2010
They Jury
-See notes above
--
Jury Articles from above
Friday April 23, 2010
Movie: 12 Angry Men
--
--
Movie Activity Sheet: See Ms. N in class.
Due: April 28, 2010
Monday April 26, 2010
TEST!
--
--
--
Tuesday April 27, 2010
Finish Test and Movie
--
--
-Movie sheet for 12 Angry Men due tomorrow!
Wednesday April 28, 2010
Criminal Trial - Evidence!



-Video: The Good Wife
-Assignment: Find 5 examples of criminal trial evidence (or terms found within this note). Define the terms and give a specific example of the term from the show.
Due: Thursday April 29, 2010
Thursday April 29, 2010
Criminal Trial Procedures: DEFENCES!



--
Friday April 30, 2010
Criminal Trial Procedures: DEFENCES!
-See note above for all Defences

--
Monday May 3, 2010
Mock Trial Overview
--
--
-Groups and Mock Trial packages distributed in class
Tuesday May 4, 2010
Criminal Trial Procedures: Sentencing!


-Time for Mock Trial prep

DUE: Wednesday May 5, 2010: ROUND 1 for Mock Trial materials
Wednesday May 5, 2010
Restorative Justice and Wrongful Convictions



In groups, summarize the following articles and give examples of problems with the legal system
*I would be familiar with at least one of these cases*






DON'T FORGET.....
TEST on TRIAL PROCEDURES on MONDAY MAY 10, 2010!


Everything from Tuesday April 20, 2010 - Friday May 7, 2010 is game for the test (but not Mock Trial stuff)